What Is Covered by the MOT 1

The MOT is a required test for all vehicles that are operating in the United Kingdom. In Great Britain, the testing is licensed and performed by the Department of Transport. In Northern Ireland, DVSA handles the testing. The individual testing procedures are pretty much the same. Your vehicle will pass or fail based on the tester’s interpretation of the guidelines.

The Areas Covered

The local MOT in Hamilton will cover the same criteria as the MOT elsewhere.

  • The tester will ensure that your lighting and signalling items are in good working order; that will guarantee your car’s ability to signal your intentions to other drivers.
  • Your steering and suspension will be tested for responsiveness.
  • Your brakes will be tested; they are often considered the most critical safety feature of your vehicle.
  • Tyres will be tested for their quality.
  • The car’s body will be judged; it does not have to be in perfect shape, but it must be considered safe to be on the road.
  • Emissions are tested as well.

The Purpose

The MOT test is supposed to keep you safe on the road; it’s also supposed to keep the people on the road with you safe. Finally, it is supposed to lessen the harm your vehicle does to the environment. For example, if your car does not have working turn signals, you cannot properly alert other people on the road about your intentions. Alternately, if your exhaust is emitting too many harmful fumes, it will be dangerous for the environment. Testing your vehicle’s safety and its environmental impact are two goals with similar mechanisms.

Leave a Reply